Meet the Governors




The Instrument of Government states that the Governing Body shall consist of the following:

3 Parent Governors, LA Governor, Headteacher, Staff Governor and 4 Co-Opted Governors

The Governing Body of Belswains Primary School is committed to assist the Headteacher and all staff in providing a safe, happy and all inclusive environment in which to deliver the best possible education for our children.

To assist with our aims, school links have been established between Governors and Staff

The Governing Body operates the following sub-committees;-

– Resources – dealing with Finance, Premises, Staff Pay and Conditions

– Strategic – dealing with all curriculum related activities

Working Parties are set up as and when the need arises.

– Pupil Premium and Vulnerable Groups Working Party – ensuring Pupil Premium funding is spent to the best advantage and monitoring results against expenditure


Governor Type Name of Governor Committee School Link
Parent Governor Mrs Lucy Warner Strategic English  and  School Council
Parent Governor Mrs Mandy Peters Strategic PHSE and Website Audit
Associate Governor Mrs Karen Yilmaz Strategic
LA Governor Miss Sue Cutler (Chair) Resource, Strategic ( Chair), Pupil Premium EYFS, SEN and CLA , CP,


Headteacher Mr Michael Fearnhead Resource, Strategic, Pupil Premium
Staff Governor Ms Sarah Schembri Resource, Pupil Premium
 Co-Opted Governor – Parent  Mrs Cassandra O’Neill  Strategic  Computing and BSA link
Co-Opted Governor – Community Mr Alan Craig Resource (Chair), Pupil Premium Maths and Science
Co-Opted Governor – Staff Mrs Allison Culley Strategic
Co-Opted Governor – Parent Mr Peter Ingall Resource,   PE & Sports Premium, Health & Safety  and Governor Training
Co-Opted Governor – Community Mr Idris Foster-Edwards ( Vice Chair) Resource, Strategic, Chair of Disciplinary, Pupil Premium School Expansion


 The Approved Minutes of governing body meetings  are available, upon request, from the school office.


The Governing Body undertakes an Annual Survey of all parents/carers to obtain their views on the performance of the school.  Governors are available at all other times to listen to concerns or views of parents/carers and can be contacted via the school office.

Click Here to download a pdf of the Governors Business Interests

The Chair of Governors and Headteacher send out an annual review letter to parents at the end of each academic year .

Click Here to download a pdf of the Heads/ Chair of Governors annual review letter for last year.


Attendance Of Governing Body Members

Governing Body Year 2017/18
    14-Sep 30-Nov 12-Mar 24-May 19-Jun
M. Fearnhead Headteacher
S. Cutler Chair
I. Foster-Edwards Vice Chair  √  √
A. Culley
L. Warner
P.Ingall  √  √  √  √
S.Schembri  √
M.Peters  √  √
A. Craig
C.O’Neill  n/a  √
K. Yilmaz Associate

Strategic Committee Year 2017/18
    23-Nov 20-Feb 05-Jun
M. Fearnhead Headteacher
M.Peters  √
S. Cutler Chair
A. Culley
C.O’Neill  √
L. Warner  Clerk
K. Yilmaz Associate
Resources Committee Year 2017/18
    21-Nov 17-Jan 26-Mar 23-May 11-Jun  
M. Fearnhead Headteacher
A. Craig Chair
S. Cutler Clerk
P. Ingall  √






Strategic Committee Year 2016/17
    03-Nov 23-Feb 08-Jun
M. Fearnead Headteacher
J. Foster-Edwards Chair n/a
S. Cutler Clerk
A. Culley
L. Warner
K. Yilmaz Associate
Resources Committee Year 2016/17
    27-Sep 06-Dec 31-Jan 28-Mar 15-May 06-Jun
M. Fearnead Headteacher
A. Craig Chair
S. Cutler Clerk
P. Ingall
S.Schembri n/a
M. Peters n/a
I. Foster-Edwards n/a n/a
K. Yilmaz Associate


Support our school and buy online...
School Funds

Belswains Primary School
  • Activemark
  • ICT
  • Healthy School
  • IQM
  • Investors in People

Belswains Primary School,
Barnfield, Hemel Hempstead,
Hertfordshire. HP3 9QJ